Best valuation, financial statement analysis books?

• BuckBuck
    Hi guys,

as title says Im interested in hearing you opinions. I have some basic knowledge on the subject but not as near as much as I would want to so looking for a good book to start from.  

Ive read that Financial Statements: A Step-by-Step Guide to Understanding and Creating Financial Reports by Ittelson is considered to be a good place to start from but Im unable to find it on pdf.

Any other suggestions are most welcome. Focus is on analysis for long term stock investment and something applicable asap.

Cheers

Post edited by Unknown User at 1999-11-30 00:00:00
  • 17 Comments sorted by
  • GraemeGraeme
    Although I haven't read it (and want to) the book Valuation: Measuring and Managing the Value of Companies is very thorough. I spent about an hour flipping through it in a bookstore. It's the core textbook used by McKinsey and Co. If you're looking for a baptism by fire, try this one out
  • I had the opportuntunity to use the McKinsey book that Graeme suggested when I took a corporate finance course at university, and it is extremely comprehensive. It covers valuation in a number of different scenarios: mergers, normal operations, emerging markets, high-growth, financial companies. I find myself referring back to it whenever I find myself in unfamiliar territory.

I would also recommend Quality of Earnings by Thornton O'Glove, which covers a several of the myriad of ways that accounting statements can mislead.

Of course, Graham and Dodd's Security Analysis will be valuable from a conceptual standpoint.
  • For valuation, I recommend "Investment Valuation" by Aswath Damodaran. If you are not in a hurry a new edition is coming out later this year. Wink

• JaeJunJaeJun
    Im sure you could also find the Investment Valuation ebook floating around on the internet.
  • GraemeGraeme
    Read all things.